light-bulb-1246043_960_720

Introduction.
In this series of my blog I will share with you all my struggles teaching in a little school located in Zambia.

I first came to this school in September with only one year experience of teaching English as a second language. Since then I have found myself faced with many difficulties, most of which were rather unexpected. Not only were resources a little limited, but regulations stopped me from doing things in a way that might have been convenient for me.

But as the famous saying goes, necessity is the mother of invention. I had three options really, give up, whine and complain, or turn on my imagination and see how I could carve a way where there was none. I had to be like water, willing to bend and turn and go around or over or under. My goal was (and is) to teach my first graders to read, write, and count, and no matter what school policy or regulations I was going to do just that.
In this series I will be putting up a post every Saturday, sharing my struggles, my battles and also my victories.

I hope you will enjoy it and I hope it will also help you see that no matter how seemingly ‘tough’ ‘inconvenient’ or even ‘impossible’ the situation is, there is always a way out. Giving up is never an option and complaining is a waste of time. Nobody wants to hear how miserable you are and it’s so hard for you.

Like Leonardo da Vinci so wonderfully said. “I have never known people of accomplishment to sit around waiting for things to happen, they went out and happened to things.”

My first post can be found by this link:Reading Challenge

The others will follow as the Saturdays pass by.

Hope you enjoy!

